Connecticut Workers' Compensation Laws

Connecticut workers' compensation laws cover the policies and procedures involved in filing a workers' compensation claim in Connecticut and the benefits available for injured or ill employees in the state.

Claims under Connecticut Workers' Compensation Laws

Workplace Accidents Causing Injury: Connecticut workers' compensation insurance encompasses injuries that occur because an employee has an accident at work, such as falling, slipping, or tripping. However, it's worth noting that self-inflicted injuries and injuries that result from an employee's misconduct or use of drugs and alcohol are not covered by workers' compensation insurance in Connecticut.

Work-Related Illnesses: If you develop an occupational disease because of your repeated exposure to harmful workplace conditions, or your work environment, Connecticut workers' compensation covers your condition. Common occupational diseases include radiation poisoning, asbestosis, and/or carpal tunnel syndrome, to name a few.

Death: If a worker dies from his occupational injury or illness, his dependent relatives may receive death benefits, the amount of which depends on the extent of his relatives' dependency.

Connecticut Workers' Compensation Benefits

Treatment of Medical Condition: Hospital and physicians' bills incurred in the treatment of your work-site injuries and illnesses will be paid by your employer's insurance carrier directly.

Mileage Reimbursement: The mileage cost of traveling to and from appointments to treat the employee's occupational injury or disease will be reimbursed by the employer's insurance provider, as will the wages lost while having the injury or illness examined.

Funeral/Death Benefits: The deceased employee's relatives will receive up to $4,000 to pay for the employee's funeral. In addition, the deceased worker's dependents will receive up to 75% of the worker's weekly wage. These payments are subject to a minimum and a maximum amount.

Replacement Income Benefits: Benefits to replace lost wages are an important part of many Connecticut workers' compensation claims. Income replacement benefits are divided into the following four categories:

1) Temporary Total Disability Benefits (TTD): Available to workers who have been injured on the job but who cannot do any work while they recover from their injuries or illnesses. Such employees will be paid at 75% of their after-tax average weekly wage for up to 52 weeks.

2) Temporary Partial Disability Benefits (TPD): The worker is too sick or injured to do his old job, but can do some kind of work at a reduced wage or for fewer hours. The worker will be paid the difference between 75% of his former after-tax wages and his current reduced wage.

3) Permanent Total Disability Benefits (PTD): Payable when the employee's injury is incapacitating and he will be unable to work in the future. He will be paid the same amount as under TTD.

4) Permanent Partial Disability Benefits (PPD): Available when the employee is partially and permanently disabled, and has lost the use of part of his body. The amount of money the employee receives is dependent on the part of his body that is permanently disabled and the employee's average rate of compensation.

Connecticut Workers' Compensation Statutes

The following Connecticut statutes pertain to Connecticut workers' compensation and can be found online via the Connecticut Workers' Compensation Act.

Employers Subject to Workers' Compensation: Workers' Compensation Act, 568 C.G.S. 31-284; Covered Employees: Workers' Compensation Act, 568 C.G.S. 31-284; Benefits: Workers' Compensation Act, 568 C.G.S. 31-294, 308-313; Claims Procedure: Workers' Compensation Act, 568 C.G.S. 31-294.